top of page

Dance Analysis- Exploration of Elements

This phrase was created for an assignment given in a dance analysis course. The assignment was to choose two concepts that were learned throughout the course and apply them to a new or an already choreographed piece. I incorporated choreography I used in other studies, as well as creating new material to fulfill the requirement of two minutes and thirty seconds. The concepts I chose to work with and incorporate into the choreography were effort elements and spatial pathways. I explored sudden and sustained elements and peripheral, transverse and central paths. I chose these concepts because I prefer sustained movements and central pathways. By also choosing their counterparts I was able to explore other choreographic choices and movement efforts that I usually do not use.

The assignment was both difficult and interesting for me as a choreographer. My already existing knowledge on my choreographic tendencies helped me try to steer away from those and try new things. I realized different ways to be innovative with transitions and how to make the choreography more dynamic. I realized that going from sudden to sustained is a great way to get your audience’s attention and to create the feeling of suspension. When I move extremely slow and quickly shift from quick and unexpected movements, it adds to the intensity of the piece. When I worked with the pathways of movements and the difference of transverse, central and peripheral, I found many more transitional opportunities. My comfortable pathway is central. When I explored the peripheral path, my movement grew and when I added transverse pathways, I felt that I was able to find many more possibilities. The realization that there are many other ways then to go just outward and inward from the center of my body, created a very different piece than from my original.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page