top of page

Composition Paper- Strengths as both a Choreographer and Mover

Strengths in Composition

I found strengths when I recreated the movement material for the assignment “Designing movement sections based on structure of piece of movement.” In class, we experimented using choreographic tools to make a piece dynamic and interesting. I discovered my ability to manipulate original choreography and create more dynamic sections and material smoothly. I incorporated accumulation, splicing, transformation and repetition. I am capable of recognizing moments of success in my original choreography that I can continue to make stronger and repetitive. I found complications that I was able to change and transform, including moments of steady levels that can become bouncy. I have a good eye for ways to make the movements less basic and predictable, such as if I do a sequence of movements standing in place on two feet, I can easily explore the possibilities to make the step captivating and embodied. I explore level changes and shifts of weight. I often begin my choreographic journey with simple movements, but I can add changes in size of and speed.

Another strength I discovered is my ability to show dynamic changes in qualities and time meters. I smoothly changed dynamics of linear to voluminous movements. My linear movements are sharp, clear and direct that when I changed dynamics the opposition is noticeable that my pelvis is more mobile and I cover space while using curved and circular motions. When choreographing, I can incorporate these time differences in an effective matter. The moment of stillness I created was right before my thirty seconds of slow, which is an interesting choreographic choice because it makes the audience wonder how long I was moving for. The sequencing of events is important and I believe I placed my sections appropriately to make an effect on an audience. The change in my time meter grabs the audience’s attention because they are sudden and distinct. I create a well-organized transition from fast to slow movements. It can be difficult to create a piece of different time meters to music, but I am capable of ignoring those beats and finding the beat from my own created score.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page